Civil Society Leadership Award

The Civil Society Leadership Awards offer master’s level support to individuals who demonstrate academic and professional excellence as well as a deep commitment to building open society in their home communities.

These awards support one- or two-year MA degrees in:

  • Development Studies;
  • Public Health & Health Management;
  • Education Management & Leadership;
  • Law & Human Rights;
  • Public Policy & Administration;
  • Environment & Resource Management;
  • Social Work & Social Policy;
  • Politics, Economics & International Studies;
  • select Humanities & Social Sciences.

Grants cover tuition and mandatory university fees, a monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses, travel, accident and sickness insurance, funds for educational materials and professional development, a preparatory academic writing program, and possible internship support.

Host universities for the 2014–2015 academic year include:

Eligibility Criteria

Awards are offered to students from the following countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Cambodia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Laos, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Ineligibility Criteria

Awards do not provide funding for foreign language teaching degrees, business administration, physical sciences, engineering, or medical degrees, or provide funding for dependent family members.


The next competition will be announced in the fall of 2014 for the 2015–16 academic year. Please check these pages in September for more information and application forms.