Using Transparency to Strengthen the Inter-American Human Rights System

During the 47th General Assembly of the Organization of American States, to be held in Cancun, Mexico, from June 19 to 21, member states will elect three new Commissioners to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.  

The six nominated candidates are being evaluated by an Independent Panel for the Election of Inter-American Commissioners, composed of five renowned academics with recognized expertise in human rights and the Inter-American System—Nienke Grossman (United States), Miguel Gutiérrez (Costa Rica), Cecilia Medina (Chile), Elizabeth Salmón (Peru), and Miguel Sarre (Mexico).

At this event, the Panel will present its final report, which assesses the candidates and makes recommendations for how to improve the transparency and visibility of the elections process.


  • Liliana Gamboa is the advocacy officer for the Open Society Justice Initiative. 
  • Miguel Guttiérrez is the founder and former director of the Programa Estado de la Nación.
  • Nienke Grossman is an associate professor and deputy director of the Center for International and Comparative Law at the University of Baltimore School of Law.
  • Viviana Krsticevic (moderator) is executive director of the Center for Justice and International Law.
  • Cecilia Medina is the former president of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.
  • Elizabeth Salmón is an associate professor of international law at Pontifical Catholic University of Peru School of Law and director of the Institute of Democracy and Human Rights. 
  • Katya Salazar is the executive director of the Due Process of Law Foundation.
  • Miguel Sarre is an Associate Professor at the School of Law of the Mexico Autonomous Institute of Technology.
Date: June 5, 2017
Time: 11:00 a.m.1:00 p.m.

Open Society Foundations-Washington DC

Liliana Gamboa, Nienke Grossman , Miguel Gutiérrez , Viviana Krsticevic , Cecilia Medina, Katya Salazar, Elizabeth Salmón , and Miguel Sarre

RSVP to attend this event in person

An asterisk * indicates a required field