The Museum of Drug Policy

A pop-up cultural hub open for three days during the United Nations General Assembly’s Special Session (UNGASS) on the world drug problem, the Museum of Drug Policy featured lunchtime and evening discussions and performances with a powerful lineup of speakers and artists exploring the real impact and human cost of drug policy in communities around the world.

Open daily from 10:30 a.m. – 9:00 p.m., over 70 works of international art were on display, along with special performances by Grammy-nominated musicians John Forte and Imani Uzuri.

For a full schedule of past events, visit:

Featured Evening Programs

#NerdlandForever—Live with Melissa Harris-Perry
When: Tuesday, April 19, 6:00 p.m. 

Modeled off her hit show, Melissa Harris-Perry examines issues around global drug policy, mass incarceration, harm reduction, access to pain relief, and the war on drugs with many distinguished guests and performers.

Film Screening—Cartel Land
When: Wednesday, April 20, 6:00 p.m.

This 2016 Academy Award–nominated documentary sheds light on the Mexican drug war, with a focus on vigilante groups on both sides of the border to combat the cartels. A Q&A with director Matthew Heineman will follow the screening.

Beats, Rhymes, and Reform
When: Thursday, April 21, 6:00 p.m.

This event elevates stories of people most impacted by the world drug problem through a night of spoken word poetry. Hosted by Power 105’s Angie Martinez and with a special appearance by hip-hop mogul Russell Simmons, featured poets include Mahogany Browne, MUMS, Jasiri X, Liza Jesse Peterson, Carlos Gomez, and DJ: Reborn.

Date: April 19, 2016April 21, 2016
Time: (All day)

245 Park Avenue (at the corner of 47th Street), New York, NY 10167

Edo Agustian, Zipporah Ali, Louise Arbour, Gretchen Burns Bergman, Yolande Cadore, Iva Carrothers, Anne-Marie Cockburn, Martin Collazo, Denise Cullen, Ruth Dreifuss, Bas Dreisinger, Karen Garrison, Kenneth Glasgow, Mary Grace, Deon Haywood, Edwin C. Sanders, II, Gloria Lai, Melody Lee, Jacqueline J. Lewis, Donald Macpherson, Adeolu Ogunrombi, Maricela Orozco, Eduardo Ribeiro Dos Santos, Gabriel Sayegh, Jane Slater, Maia Szalavitz, Touré, and Daniel Wolfe